Basketball Hall of Fame names finalists

Knoxville, TN – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12 finalists for induction into the 2017 Hall of Fame; they are: Yelena Baranova (player), Rose Marie Battaglia (coach), Sally Bell (official), Evelyn Blalock (coach), Joan Bonvicini (coach), Nora Lynn Finch (contributor), Christine Grant (contributor), Rick Insell (coach), Louise O’Neal (veteran), Crystal Robinson (player), Sheryl Swoopes (player), and Kara Wolters (player).

The six-member Class of 2017 will be selected from the 12 finalists and announced on ESPN on February 12.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining the individuals to be inducted each year. Voting is based on minimum candidate requirements, which include record of performance, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women’s basketball.

The mission of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame is to “honor the past, celebrate the present, and promote the future” of women’s basketball.

For information regarding the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame or the 2017 Induction Ceremony please visit