CBT names new board members

KNOXVILLE, TN – The Clarence Brown Theatre, one of thirteen professional LORT (League of Regional Theatres) theatres on a university campus in the country, has announced its newly appointed 2016 Advisory Board members earlier this summer. The CBT Advisory Board is a vital link to the Greater Knoxville community, overseeing major events and fundraisers, the CBT Society Scholarship, and engaging the community to grow the theatre’s exposure and support.

“We continue our efforts to bring to our Advisory Board ever-greater diversity in experience and viewpoint. And we are delighted that our new Board members share with our current Advisory Board a passion for the theater and for our joint professional/educational mission,” said Calvin MacLean, Artistic Producing Director of the CBT. “Truly an extraordinary group of individuals from many different walks of life.”

The newly elected Advisory Board members of the Clarence Brown Theatre include: Ron Alexander (Willis of Tennessee); Michelle D. Commander (University of Tennessee); Michael Higdon (University of Tennessee); Margie Nichols (University of Tennessee, retired); Todd Richesin (UPSTAIRS at Todd Richesin Interiors); Ingrid Ruffin (University of Tennessee).

The 2016-2017 Chair of the Advisory Board is Brooks Clark, serving the second of his two-year term.

Other Advisory, Associate, and Emeritus Board members include: Nan Bobbett, Charlie Brakebill, Rick Carl, Joe De Fiore, Susan Farris, Coral Getino, Rosemary Gilliam, Michael Grider, Carmen Harb, Nazzy Hashemian, Amy Morris Hess, Julie Howard, Tony Johnson, Russ Johnston, Bob Lederer, Brenda Madigan, Angela Masini, Maureen Dunn McBride, Sheena McCall, John North, Townes Osborn, Bob Parrott, William Pender, Stephanie Piper, Whitney Ray-Dawson, Lee Riedinger, Susan Sgarlat, Jan Simek, Steve Smith, Lamarr Stout, Kay Stoutt, Rosalyn Tillman, Alice Torbett, Joe Trahern, Peggy Turner, Robin Turner, Lacy Wallace, Alexander Waters, Alice Wirth, Melanie Wood, and Wendy Wortham.

Under the leadership of Producing Artistic Director Calvin MacLean and Managing Director David B. Byrd, the CBT season runs from September through May and features eight productions ranging from musicals to drama.

For more information, tickets or accessibility accommodation requests including Open Captioning, ASL, and assistive technologies, please call the CBT Box Office at 865-974-5161 or visit online at clarencebrowntheatre.com/access.