KWG names 2015 writing awards

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – The Knoxville Writers’ Guild is excited to announce the winners of its annual writing contest. Out of the many entries received, 14 writers were selected for recognition in the 2015 Knoxville Writers’ Guild Contests. Winners for each category are listed below:

Leslie Garrett Award for Literary Fiction
First Place: “An Encounter with Yesterday” by Susan Lindsley
Second Place: “An Immodest Proposal” by Jane Sasser
Third Place: “Living in Shitsville” by Amber Hart

Genre Fiction
First Place: “The Old Lady and the Coyotes” by Susan Lindsley

Novel Excerpt
First Place: “Return to Taylor’s Crossing” by Janie Dempsey Watts
Second Place: “Prosperity” by Gerhard Schneibel
Third Place: “Our Little Domestic Heroine” by Carol J. Luther

Creative Nonfiction
First Place: “Hangin’ at the Dump” by Linda Myers
Second Place: “Accommodation” by Stephanie Levy
Third Place: “At the Clinic” by Diane Montgomery

Libba Moore Gray Award for Poetry
First Place: “Learning to Mother” by Connie Jordan Green
Second Place: “Flesh and Blood” by Carlos Andres Gomez
Third Place: “Migraineur” by Jane Sasser

Young Writers
First Place: “At the End of Tornado Alley” by Delaney Thurston

KWG congratulates the winners and expresses its thanks to all who participated. For more information about future contests and events, visit